2010 MFAeA Election Results

Mississippi’s First Alumnae Association’s Elections for the Board of Directors and Officers for 2010-11 were recently completed.

The 2010 Election marked the second year the MFAeA process was held prior to MUW’s Spring Homecoming rather than during the homecoming festivities. This change allowed more voting eligible members to participate in the election. “We are pleased that we have completed our second year of elections by means of both electronic and traditional paper balloting. As this new method becomes more familiar, we hope that more and more of our alumni will use the elections process to voice their approval of who they wish to lead their organization,” said Lenore Shields Griffin ’70, MFAeA Elections Committee Chair.

“This process seeks to increase alumnae/i participation in the entire process,” said Kym Golden Gore ‘97, MFAeA Immediate Past President and Nominations Committee Chair, “from open suggestions for consideration by the nominating committee to floor nominations to voting via ballots rather than acclamation – members have the opportunity to shape the outcome from beginning to end.”

This year’s slated nominees were uncontested as no floor nominations were received. Members had the option to cast their votes for the entire slate or for the individual nominees. The slate received 95% of the votes cast.

The Nominating Committee for 2010-2011 will be chaired by current President Anghaarad Teague Dees ’95 as she succeeds to Immediate Past President. This fall the committee will solicit suggestions for nominees as well as consider those previously suggested but not nominated. Floor nominations will be accepted for a two-week period after the board’s approval of the slate. The MFAeA is in the process of converting to a new membership management program that will further improve the ease with which activated members manage their membership data and participate in elections.

Officers and Board Members elected to office by a majority of ballots cast and scheduled for installation at Mississippi's First Alumnae Association Annual Spring Membership Business Meeting on Saturday, April 17, 2010, are:








Parliamentarian, Past Presidents’ Representative and Chapters Representative
Lillian Harris Wade (elected 2008)

Neely Woods Hunter (elected 2009)

Anghaarad Teague Dees (elected 2007)

Emily Myers Garner

Deborah Stockman Hodges

Wanda G. Ray

Erin Gioia
Anne Franklin Lamar
Shirley Rutherford Spain
Augustus “Gus” Argrett (elected 2009)
Kimberly Griffin (elected 2009)
Lenore Shields Griffin (elected 2009)
Del Oehms Hamilton (elected 2009)
Jimmie Meese Moomaw (elected 2009)
Thomas “Mack” Spencer (elected 2009)

to be appointed by President Lillian Wade